Weather

County,
High Wind Warning issued March 18 at 3:44AM CDT until March 18 at 9:00PM CDT by NWS
Effective: 3:44 a.m. on Tuesday, March 18, 2014
Expires: 9 p.m. on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

...STRONG WINDS FROM THE NORTHWEST EXPECTED TODAY...
.AN INTENSE LOW PRESSURE SYSTEM WILL DEVELOP AND MOVE EAST THROUGH
THE CENTRAL HIGH PLAINS TODAY. VERY STRONG NORTHWEST WINDS ARE
EXPECTED TO DEVELOP ACROSS WESTERN AND CENTRAL KANSAS DURING THE
DAY AND CONTINUE INTO THE EARLY EVENING HOURS BEFORE DIMINISHING.
THE HIGH WINDS WILL LIKELY CAUSE AREAS OF BLOWING DUST.
...HIGH WIND WARNING NOW IN EFFECT FROM 7 AM CDT /6 AM MDT/ THIS
MORNING TO 9 PM CDT /8 PM MDT/ THIS EVENING...
* TIMING...DURING THE DAY TODAY. STRONGEST DURING THE MID
AFTERNOON INTO THE EARLY EVENING HOURS.
* WINDS...NORTHWEST AT 35 TO 45 MPH GUSTING TO NEAR 60 MPH.
* MAIN IMPACT...HAZARDOUS TRAVEL ESPECIALLY ALONG EAST TO WEST
ROADS AND NEAR GRAIN ELEVATORS AND WIND BREAKS. LIGHT
STRUCTURAL DAMAGE MAY ALSO OCCUR ALONG WITH SPORADIC POWER
OUTAGES.
* OTHER IMPACTS...BLOWING DUST WILL REDUCE VISIBILITY TO LESS
THAN ONE MILE ESPECIALLY AROUND LOOSE AGRICULTURAL FIELDS.

See more at NOAA