Brownback signs disaster declaration because of winter storm, offers assistance to 53 counties

Because of the severe winter storm, Gov. Sam Brownback on Tuesday signed a disaster declaration that activates emergency actions and authorizes state resources for assistance statewide. “We ask Kansans to be extremely careful as the storm moves across the state. Ice, snow and bitterly cold temperatures will make for very dangerous conditions,” Brownback said. “Planning ahead could save your life and that of your family,” he said.

Fifty-three counties, including Johnson County, are named in the declaration as areas likely to be affected.

The Kansas Division of Emergency Management has activated the State Emergency Operations Center in Topeka to a “Watch Level,” with 24-hour staffing.

“We are ready to assist counties across the state if local entities are overwhelmed and need support,” Brownback said.

By Scott Rothschild


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.