Arts Council of Johnson County recognizes DHS seniors

When it comes to fine arts, De Soto High School is doing something right as evidenced by the Arts Council of Johnson County selecting eight DHS seniors as finalists for the group's Shooting Stars scholarship program.

The students, who represent vocal, instrumental, performance and visual art, will attend the Shooting Stars Gala in April, where the scholarship winners will be announced.

The representatives from DHS are:

  • Katie Hammond: 2-D visual art
  • Anna Henning: 3-D visual art
  • Jessi McNaughton: literature
  • Drew Buffkin: photography
  • Owen Moore: theatre performance
  • Richard Clancy: technical theatre
  • Hannah Stevens: classical voice
  • Philip Kaul: winds and percussion instrumental.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.