Archive for Wednesday, March 31, 2010

Applicants needed for county advisory boards

March 31, 2010

— The Johnson County Board of Commissioners is now accepting applications from interested residents who would like to be considered for ten appointments to serve on five advisory boards of county government.

Three appointments involve vacancies on the Johnson County Planning Commission with the appointments to be named by Chairman Annabeth Surbaugh. The vacancies include two representatives from the incorporated area of the county and one representing the unincorporated area.

The Board of Code Review is in the need of a certified master electrician or certified master plumber with the appointment being made by the chairman.

Surbaugh also is accepting applicants for four positions on the Contractors Licensing Review Board, including representation from a building official, general contractor, residential contractor, and architect/engineer.

Other single vacancies include:

• An Aubry Township trustee representative to the Aubry-Oxford Township Zoning Board with the appointment to be made by Third District Commissioner David Lindstrom; and,

• A sixth district representative to the Northwest Consolidated Zoning Board with Commissioner Calvin Hayden filling that vacancy.

Johnson County residents interested in being considered for appointment to the advisory boards should submit their cover letter and current resume or curriculum vitae to the board’s office at the following address:


Attn: Appointments Clerk

County Administration Building, Suite 3300

111 South Cherry Street

Olathe, Kansas 66061-3486

Applications are available on the Clerk of the Board’s website at For more information, residents should contact the Office of the Board of County Commissioners at (913) 715-0430.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.