Archive for Friday, January 8, 2010

Kansas Sampler names 24 finalists for 8 Wonders of Kansas Geography

January 8, 2010

The Kansas Sampler Foundation announced the 24 finalists for the 8 Wonders of Kansas Geography contest today.

The 24 finalists (in alphabetical order) are:

Alcove Spring, near Blue Rapids

Arikaree Breaks, Cheyenne County

Bartlett Arboretum, Belle Plaine

Big Basin Prairie Preserve, Clark County

Brenham Meteorites, near Haviland

Cimarron National Grassland, Morton County

Coronado Heights, near Lindsborg

Cross Timbers State Park, near Toronto

Elk River Hiking Trail, Montgomery County

Four-State Lookout, White Cloud

Geographic Center of the Contiguous United States, Lebanon

Gyps Hills Scenic Drive & Gypsum Hills Scenic Byway, Barber & Comanche counties

Kaw Point Park, Kansas City

Konza Prairie, Manhattan

Lake Scott State Park, Scott County

Maxwell Wildlife Refuge, Canton

Mined Lake Wildlife Area, Cherokee, Comanche & Labette counties

Mount Sunflower, Wallace County

Mushroom Rock State Park, Ellsworth County & Rock City, near Minneapolis

Native Stone Scenic Byway, Wabaunsee & Shawnee counties

Pillsbury Crossing Wildlife Area, near Manhattan

Post Rock Scenic Byway, Ellsworth, Lincoln & Russell counties

Schermerhorn Park, near Galena

Sternberg Museum of Natural History, Hays


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.