Archive for Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Advance voting ballots tabulated in Johnson County

August 3, 2010

Advance voting results have been posted in Johnson County, while counting continues from polling places opened today.

Early leaders include Jerry Moran in the U.S. Senate race over Republican Todd Tiahrt, 49.6 percent to 42.1 percent, with 20,894 total votes in the race. With just 4,493 advance votes cast for the Democrats, Lisa Johnston lead with 39.46 percent over Charles Schollenberger's 26.62 percent, the three other candidates in the field capturing lower vote totals.

Republican Kevin Yoder was leading Patricia Lightner and a field of seven others seeking the 3rd Congressional District nomination, 48 percent to 35.7 percent, with 20,559 total votes in the race; Stephene Moore over Thomas Scherer, 80.6 percent to 19.4 percent, with 4,599 total votes in the race.

In the nonpartisan primary for Johnson County Commission chair, 25,619 votes were cast in advance. Ed Eilert had 42.9 percent of the advance vote to incumbent Annabeth Surbaugh’s 31 percent. John Toplikar had 16.8 percent while John Segale had 9.2 percent. The top two will advance.

The other local preliminary is for the Republican nomination for State House Representative District 17, which covers Shawnee and Lenexa. With 1,183 advance votes cast, incumbent Jill Quigley holds 52.32 percent of the vote to Kelly Meigs' 47.68 percent.

In addition to the U.S. Senate and Congressional races, several other primaries will rely on statewide votes, but advance vote totals in Johnson County were as follows:

• Governor, Republican: total advance votes cast 20,550; Sam Brownback, 83.28 percent; Joan Heffington, 16,72 percent.

• Secretary of State, Republican: total advance votes cast 20,563; Kris Kobach, 64.57 percent; Elizabeth Ensley, 31.97 percent; J.R. Claeys, 3.46 percent.

• Secretary of State, Democrat: total advance votes cast 4,452; Chris Steineger, 57.1 percent; Chris Biggs, 42.9 percent.

• Attorney General, Republican: total advance votes cast 17,467; Derek Schmidt, 80.08 percent; Ralph de Zago, 19.92 percent.

• Commissioner of Insurance, Republican: total advance votes cast 19,353; Sandy Praeger, 67.63 percent; David Powell, 32.37 percent.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.