Archive for Tuesday, April 13, 2010

County needs 5 for homelessness task force

April 13, 2010

Annabeth Surbaugh, chairman of the Johnson County Board of Commissioners, is accepting applications from interested residents who would like to be considered for five appointments to serve as Johnson County representatives to a metropolitan homelessness task force.

On March 25, the Board of County Commissioners approved a memorandum of understanding with Kansas City, Mo., regarding the homelessness task force involving counties and cities in the metropolitan region.

The task force is the result of two years of planning by an ad hoc group created by area police chiefs. The City Council of Kansas City, Mo., passed a resolution in September of 2009 to establish the task force. Jackson County, Mo. approved the memorandum of understanding in March of 2010.

The purpose of the task force is to find viable solutions, including immediate and long-term strategies, and funding options regarding issues with homelessness. A report of findings and recommendations from the homelessness task force is expected in early 2011.

In approving the memorandum of understanding, Johnson County now can appoint five representatives to the task force. Surbaugh is seeking applications until May 15.

Johnson County residents interested in being considered for appointment to the task force should submit their cover letter and current resume or curriculum vitae to the board’s office at the following address:


Attn: Appointments Clerk

County Administration Building, Suite 3300

111 South Cherry Street

Olathe, Kansas 66061-3486

Applications are available on the Clerk of the Board’s website at For more information, residents should contact the Office of the Board of County Commissioners at (913) 715-0430.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.