Archive for Monday, November 23, 2009

2010 Kansas Teacher of the year from USD 512

November 23, 2009

The distinction of Kansas Teacher of the Year went to a foreign language teacher in the Shawnee Mission School District.

Shawnee Mission West High School's Karen Tritt was named the 2010 Kansas Teacher of the Year on Saturday.

Two Shawnee area teachers made it to the final round of the award process.

Tritt and Rose Nemchik, a special education teacher from Riverview Elementary in USD 232 were among eight finalists for this year's distinction.

Tritt was named the 2010 Kansas Teacher of the Year during a ceremony in Wichita, Saturday.

As the 2010 Teacher of the Year, Tritt receives a $4,000 cash award from Security Benefit. As well as, a Lifelong Learning Scholarship from the Kansas Board of Regents, Washburn University, Baker University, Bethany College, Kansas Wesleyan University, MidAmerica Nazarene University, University of Saint Mary, Tabor College, and Webster University; and a Jostens Leader in Education ring.

Tritt will also receive an SMART Board educational technology package valued at approximately $16,000 from the SMARTer Kids Foundation and SMART Technologies of Canada.

All eight finalist from the Kansas Teacher of the Year program will receive a $2,000 cash award from the Security Benefit, and a one year site license for SMART Ideas concept mapping software and technology training.

The Kansas Teacher of the Year program is sponsored by the Kansas Department of Education.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.