Archive for Thursday, January 8, 2009

Hayden, other county elected officials to take oath of office Monday

January 8, 2009, 12:00 a.m.

Updated: 12:00 a.m.

The first person from De Soto to serve on the Johnson County Commission will be sworn into office Monday in Olathe with others elected in November.

The Honorable Stephen Tatum, chief judge of the 10th Judicial District Court, will administer the oath of office to three newly elected and two re-elected Johnson County officials during an inaugural ceremony that is scheduled for 10 a.m. Monday

The public ceremony will be at the commission’s hearing room on the third floor of the County Administration Building, 111 S. Cherry St., Olathe.

Calvin Hayden, De Soto, who wrestled 6th District Commissioner seat from three-time incumbent John Toplikar will officially start his four-year term Monday.

The 6th District includes the cities of Gardner, De Soto, Edgerton, the western portion of Olathe, and unincorporated areas in southwestern and western Johnson County.

Among the others to be sworn in are:

Steve Howe, district attorney.

Howe was elected to a four-term term in the 2008 General Elections on November 4, succeeding Phill Kline, who was appointed on Dec. 11, 2006, by a Johnson County Republican caucus. Kline was named to serve the remaining two years of the unexpired term of former District Attorney Paul Morrison, who was elected Kansas Attorney General in the 2006 November General Elections.

Howe was a prosecutor in the district attorney’s office for 16 years before he left in early 2007 to join a law firm. Prior to that, he was an assistant district attorney in Shawnee County for two years. He and his wife, Cyndi, are the parents of four children. The family lives in Shawnee.

Frank Denning, sheriff

Denning was re-elected to a second four-year term in the November General Elections. Prior to becoming sheriff in 2005, he served as undersheriff in the administration of the late Sheriff John Foster and as acting sheriff following Foster’s death in March 2003. Prior to that, Denning was the chief of the Roeland Park Police Department from 1996 through August 2002.

From 1978 to 1996, Denning worked in the Sheriff’s Office as an administrative supervisor, line supervisor, detective, and field services deputy. His law enforcement career began in 1971 with service in police departments at Garden City, Great Bend, and Larned before joining the Johnson County Sheriff’s Office. He is married to Robin Lewis, a former assistant Johnson County prosecutor now in private law practice. The couple lives near Edgerton.

Jim Allen, 2nd district


A former member of the Shawnee City Council, he succeeds John Segale, Shawnee, who served on the Board of County Commissioners for the past four years. The Second District includes the cities of Shawnee and Lake Quivira along with northern Lenexa.

Allen has been a State Farm Insurance agent for 29 years. He served as mayor of Shawnee from 1993-2004 and represented Ward 1 on the Shawnee City Council from 1989-1993 and Ward 4 from 1983-1987. He and his wife, Julie, have four sons and one granddaughter.

A lifelong resident of Johnson County, Hayden retired in mid-2008 as a lieutenant in the Johnson County Sheriff’s Office after nearly 27 years of service. He and his wife, Kelly, live in De Soto and have five grown children.

David A. Lindstrom, 3rd

district commissioner

Lindstrom was re-elected to a second four-year term as a member of the Board of County Commissioners, representing the city of Spring Hill, the southern half of the cities of Overland Park and Leawood, and the southeastern unincorporated quadrant of the county.

A resident of Johnson County since 1979, Lindstrom owns four Burger King Restaurants, including two in Overland Park. He played defensive end in the National Football League, including being a member of the Kansas City Chiefs from 1978 to 1986.

Lindstrom served out the two-year unexpired term of former Third District Commissioner Annabeth Surbaugh, who was elected to the office of Chairman of the Board in November 2002. He was re-elected to his first full term as a commissioner in the 2004 General Elections.

As part of the proceedings, each official will be introduced by a person of his choosing and will then be given an opportunity to offer brief remarks before the oath of office is administered. A reception has been planned to follow the inaugural ceremony.

The inaugural ceremony and reception are free and open to the public, and interested members of the public are invited to attend.

For more information, please contact the Office of the Board of County Commissioners at (913) 715-0430.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.