Archive for Thursday, February 26, 2009

Primary election set for Tuesday

February 26, 2009

The polls will be open for all De Soto voters from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday.

The city’s polling places have been scaled back from last year De Soto VFW Post 6654, 33725 W. 84th St. Lexington Township residents will vote at the De Soto United Methodist Church, 8760 Kill Creek Rd.

The number of local polling places contrasts to the three open in De Soto in last year’s presidential election year. Sarah Horn, election systems manager for the Johnson County Election Office said that was the trend countywide in the primary.

“We’ll have 37 polling places in the county,” she said, explaining that no primaries would be needed in many locations. “We’ve done a lot of consolidation because of budget constraints. We will have more polling places in the (April 7) general election.”

De Soto voters will cull the candidate slates for De Soto City Council and USD 232

On the ballot for the school board primary are Gregory Hines, Jeff Hopkins, Margaret Johnson, Randy Johnson and Roger Templin. The ballot will be cut down to three candidates for the April 7 general election.

Only patrons living in Position 4 can vote in the primary this includes all residents who live west of Clare Road - and for all residents west of K-7 and south of 71st Street.

Position 4 encompasses small portions of west Shawnee and west Lenexa, De Soto and the unincorporated areas south and west of De Soto.

The list of 11 candidates running for the two city council seats will be reduced to six. Those running are Ron Crow, Andrew Everett, Bob Garrett, Kevin Honomichl, John Krudwig, Danny Lane, Ron McDaniel, Doug Pickert, W.R. Sam Tyler, Rick Walker and Stephanie Weaver.

Advanced voting in person began Tuesday at the Johnson County Election Office in Olathe. Advanced voting hours are from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday and 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Saturday. Advanced voting concludes Monday at noon.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.