Child seatbelt checks nets 95 tickets
During the week that included Valentine's Day, deputies with the Johnson County Sheriff's Office worked additional hours targeting seatbelt violations and child restraint violations. During this special enforcement, deputies issued 95 tickets ,including 53 speeding tickets, 34 miscellaneous traffic tickets, four seatbelt violations and four child restraint violations.
The extra enforcement is underwritten in part by a $6,500 grant from Kansas Department of Transportation, which is designed to promote aggressive enforcement of all Kansas traffic laws.
Kansas law requires all riders younger than 4 years of age to be in a federally-approved child safety seat. Children 4 to 8 years of age must be in a federally-approved child safety seat/booster seat unless the child weighs more than 80 pounds or is taller than 4 for 9" inches. After reaching that stature, the child is buckled in as an adult would be, as are children, aged 8 through 13.
In the case of unrestrained children younger than 13, the driver is cited and fined $60 plus court costs. In the case of young persons, ages 14-17, in any position in the vehicle, those who are unbuckled are subject to individual citations and fines of $60 (includes court cost). The fine for unbuckled persons over age 17 is $30 (includes court costs).