Archive for Thursday, May 3, 2007

Arts council members sought

May 3, 2007

The Johnson County commissioners are accepting applications from interested residents who would like to be considered for 12 appointments to serve on five advisory boards of county government.

Seven of the appointments involve serving three-year terms on the county's new Public Art Commission. Each of the six district commissioners will name one member to the commission along with one appointee by Chairman Annabeth Surbaugh.

The Public Art Commission will have up to nine members. Another member will be nominated by the Arts Council of Johnson County. The other member will be a designee from the county's facilities department, which is overseeing the public art program.

The Johnson County Commission must approve all nominees to the Public Art Commission.

Two vacancies currently exist on the county's Museum Advisory Council. One appointment will represent the 5th District with the nomination to be made by Commissioner Doug Wood. The other member will come from the 6th District with the nomination being made by Commissioner John Toplikar.

A vacancy also exists on the zoning appeals. The appointee will be nominated by Toplikar.

Johnson County residents interested in being considered for appointment to the advisory boards should submit their cover letter and current resume or curriculum vitae to the commission's office at: Board of County Commissioners, Attn: Appointments Clerk, County Administration Building, Suite 3300, 111 S. Cherry St., Olathe 66061-3486

Applications are available on the commission's Web site at

For more information, residents should call the Office

of the Board of County Commissioners at (913) 715-0430.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.