Archive for Thursday, June 21, 2007

Three USD 232 board members say farewell

June 21, 2007

Three members of the De Soto USD 232 Board of Education expressed their gratitude for serving on the board and gave advice to incoming members at their final meeting Monday night.

"It's been a pleasure serving on the board of education for 14 years," board member Sandra Thierer said. "I'm most proud of the fact that I've rarely missed a meeting. I've learned quite a bit."

Thierer represented Position 3 and will be replaced by Bill Fletcher.

Rick Walker, representing Position 1, didn't have much to say.

"I came here quiet, so I am going to go out that way," he said. "I am just very honored to have served on the board."

Walker lost narrowly to Tim Blankenship.

Board member Bill Waye mirrored the comments of the other parting board members.

"I am proud of a few things that hit, but I'm not very proud of a few others," he said. "Those of you who are on the board, I urge you to stick with it."

Waye did not attempt re-election this year as Thierer and Walker did.

Thierer also had a word of advice for new members.

"I hope that it's not too painful," she said. "Develop a very thick skin."

At their last meeting, the board members approved a request to alter the intradistrict transfer policy by permitting families be contacted in July regarding their approval status instead of in August. Families still must apply for approval by June 15. Nothing else in the policy was changed.

The board also denied a request 5-1 to use polyurethane-based material instead of latex-based material for the track at Mill Creek Middle School. The district will stick with a latex-based track there, which is what originally was planned and is consistent with the rest of the district.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.