Archive for Thursday, February 8, 2007

At-large board primary now four-way race

February 8, 2007

Add one more candidate to those vying for the at-large position on the De Soto USD 232 Board of Education.

De Soto businessman Richard Brazukas filed before the Jan. 23 deadline, but there was a delay before his name was listed on the Johnson County Election Office Web site.

Brazukas, incumbent Don Clark, 2006 De Soto High School graduate and Baker University freshman Kasey Willnauer and current Shawnee City Councilman Kevin Straub will face off in a Feb. 27 primary. The two candidates with the most votes in the primary will move on the April 3 general election.

Brazakus said he was running for the board because of his belief education was the foundation of American society. He is a firm believer in the 2001 federal No Child Left Behind Act's goal of providing all children with a quality education, he said.

"Both my son and daughter went through De Soto High School and went on the get college educations," he said. "My motivation for running is to provide the greatest education for the money taxpayers can afford."

As for two big and entwined issues of boundaries and crafting a bond package in the wake of voter rejection November of the $105.7 million proposal, Brazukas said he supported building new schools when population growth made them necessary. But he said the board should look to build larger schools and expand current ones to decrease the amount of student transfers caused by boundary changes.

There will also be a primary race for the USD 232 Position 2 board seat. Vying for that seat are Bob Dyche, Donald Gentry and Jim Thomas. In that contest, too, the two candidates with the most votes will move on the general election. But participation in that race will be limited to those living within the boundaries of the position.

The Feb. 27 primary for the Johnson County Community College Board of Trustees, which has eight candidates vying for three seats, will be open to all county voters. Incumbents Lynn Mitchelson, Mission Woods, and Jon Stewart, Overland Park, are on the ballot with Lorianne Fisher Koneczny, Overland Park, David Nelson, Shawnee, Peter Sam, Overland Park, Joshua Seiden, Overland Park, Dwight Sutherland, Mission Hills, and Don Weiss, Olathe. The six candidates with the most votes will contest the general election.

Unregistered voters have until Monday to become registered to cast ballots in the primary. Registration forms can be found at the county election office Web site at, De Soto City Hall or the De Soto Library.

Advance voting will start Feb. 20, with in-person advance voting at the Johnson County Election Office, 2101 E. Kansas City Road, Olathe.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.