Archive for Thursday, December 6, 2007

DHS, LTMS students make Sousa Junior Honor Bands

December 6, 2007

Four De Soto High School Band students and four Lexington Trails Middle School Band students were selected recently for the Kansas Sousa Junior Honors Bands.

This is an All-State group for students in grades seventh through ninth selected by taped audition. The selected students are divided into a top (Blue) and second (Red) band, both of which will rehearse and perform in January at the Lied Center on the campus of Kansas University. The directors will be David Holsinger, internationally renowned composer and clinician; and also David Clemmer, Assistant Director of Bands at KU. The DHS students selected for the band are: Tommy Strausser, Blue Band, 5th chair flute (5th overall); Katie McKiernan, Blue Band 1st chair clarinet (1st overall); Clinton Hale, Red Band, 6th chair trumpet (18th overall); and Derek Smith, Red Band, 3rd chair tuba (10th overall)

The LTMS students selected for the band are: Parker Riley (8th grade), alto sax; Phillip Kaul (8th grade), alto sax; Aaron Garza (8th grade), baritone sax; and Dylan Foster (7th grade), trumpet.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.