Archive for Thursday, April 12, 2007

All-area girls basketball

April 12, 2007

The Lawrence Journal-World sports staff selected the all-area girls basketball team recently. Selections were based heavily on voting by area coaches and performances throughout the season. All area coaches had an opportunity to vote for first-team, second-team and honorable mention honors.

Tonganoxie's Ali Pistora was named Player of the Year for the second year. The 6-foot senior guard averaged 12.9 points, 7.1 rebounds, 2.9 steals and 2.8 assists while helping the Chieftains to a fourth-place finish at the Class 4A state tournament in Salina.

Other's named to the first team were Jackie Goleman, sr., 5-11 forward, De Soto; Elizabeth Baska, jr., 5-9 guard, Tonganoxie; Brooke Pryor, sr., 5-10 forward, Santa Fe Trail; and Kelsey Verhaeghe, jr., 5-7 guard, Baldwin.

Goleman averaged nearly a double-double for the season with 13.7 points and 9.6 rebounds per game.

Baska averaged 9.9 points, 4.2 rebounds, 2.7 assists and 1.5 steals per game.

Pryor led the area in scoring at 17.5 points per game. She also pulled down 10.9 rebounds per outing while helping Santa Fe Trail to a 14-8 record and a spot in the Class 4A sub-state semifinals. Verhaeghe averaged 16.4 points per game as the Bulldogs advanced to the Class 4A sub-state semifinals. She drilled 73 three-pointers on the season -- shooting 41 percent from beyond the arc.

Second team selections were Emily Ballock, Eudora; Chantay Caron, Ottawa; Kira Gonzalez, De Soto; Missy Rome, McLouth; Nicole Rockhold, Oskaloosa.

Those who received honorable mention Ashleigh Allam, Perry-Lecompton; Carol Allen, Oskaloosa; Rachel Bogard, Tonganoxie; Haley Epperson, Eudora; Heather Garcia and Tracie Weege, both of Baldwin; Stephanie Mars, Ottawa; Tori Rutter, Santa Fe Trail; Rachael Thompson, McLouth.

Tonganoxie coach Randy Kraft was named coach of the year.

The De Soto Explorer is owned by the World Company, which also owns the Lawrence Journal-World.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.