Archive for Thursday, May 18, 2006

Exploring the Past/De Soto History

May 18, 2006

5 years ago
May 2001
Sixty-seven seniors from De Soto High School received diplomas during ceremonies at the high school.
The class' four top academic achievers were Shannon Bunce, Rebecca Coffindaffer, Cody Gratny and Amanda Leach.
¢ De Soto High School senior baseball players were Tracy Peters, Danny Blades, Doug Wittebort and Ronnie Kraus.
Senior softball players were Shannon Bunce and Amber O'Connor.
¢ De Soto's Seth Rhodes and Matt Holton came away with medals at the Class 4A State tournament at Sunflower Hills Golf Course in Bonner Springs.
Rhodes finished one better than this teammate, using a string of six pars to score an 82 for a 12th-place finish. Holton was steady with a score of 83, earning him a five-way tie for 13th place.

35 years ago
May 1971
LaVerta Bostwick was the valedictorian of the De Soto High School class of 1971. Roger Moll was salutatorian. They each gave speeches at the graduation ceremony where 72 received diplomas.
Four-year honor roll graduates were Donna Asher, LaVerta Bostwick, Rick Caldwell, Terry Johnston, Ellen Long, Roger Moll and Susan Dicken Rogers.
¢ The Feese-Thrasher TV Shop was broken into.
A window screen was torn from a window at the back of the shop, the window pried open and the front door lock broken so the loot could be taken from the building.
Eleven black and white televisions, one color television with a bad picture tube, a color TV antenna and a stereo that belonged to S&S Sales and Salvors were taken. The missing merchandise was valued at $1,300.

40 years ago
May 1966
Cloa Rhoades was honored with a retirement party at the grade school. She had worked in the district for 21 years.
¢ The new post office and Standard Station were making progress.
¢ Frank Mize graduated form Argentine High School.
¢ Five hundred forty-eight votes were cast at the bond election. The count was 352 in favor and 162 opposed.

47 years ago
May 1959
Seniors in the Class of 1959 at De Soto High School were Peggy Bradley, George Bryant, Larry Buckley, Mary Chaney, Gary Ellis, Joyce Fisher, Jim Flowers, Judy Funk, Judith Gardner, Ruth Goodrum, Joy Guffey, Reta Guffey, Joyce Henry, Virginia Herbert, Laura Huffman, Virgil Ireland, Dale Israel, Emmet Kurtz, Ronald Lindsey, Gary Lowe, George Lucas, Carl Martinson, Ronald McDaniel, Carole Mitchell, Paul Morse, Charles Nalley, Raymond Newport, Mary Owens, Stephanie Powell, Jerry Roach, Marjorie Rose, Marvin Rose, Nettie Siscoe, Barrett Spurgeon, Kay Toedman, Milton Topping, Coy Welch and Judith Wycoff.
Marvin Rose was the valedictorian and Milton Topping was salutatorian.
¢ Winston Manning received a scholarship to the State Music Camp at Manhattan for receiving a first at the state musical meet.
¢ Letter earners for football were Carl Martinson, Ron McDaniel, Ron Lindsey, Ron Warsop, Val Finney, Larry Smith, Leslie Spiering, John Valcour and Ted Morse.
Those who lettered in basketball were Carl Martinson, Ron McDaniel, Marvin Rose, Val Finney, Gary Plummer and Larry Cox.
Larry Smith, Gary Plummer, Jerry Keegan, Val Finney, John Valcour and Gary Plumb all lettered in track.

50 years ago
May 1956
Attorney General John Anderson purchased the William E. Burch farm at public auction for $20,000.
¢ Mr. and Mrs. A.W. Blaylock Jr., moved to Topeka.
¢ Sunday dinner guests of Hattie Hale were Mr. and Mrs. Walter Osborne and Mr. and Mrs. Robert Osborne.
¢ Mr. and Mrs. Malcolm Steele were visiting his homeland in Scotland.

58 years ago
May 1948
Members of the Pleasant Hour Club sponsored a project of placing stone pillars at the two entrances of the De Soto Cemetery.
¢ Mr. and Mrs. Henry Golden sold their home in the west part of town to Dr. and Mrs. Charles Stumpff.
¢ The new business place and home of Mr. and Mrs. A.A. Hartfelder on Highway 10 west of De Soto was completed and was known as "Mom's and Pop's Place."

Commenting has been disabled for this item.