Archive for Thursday, March 30, 2006

De Soto’s Erisman headlines all-area wrestling team

March 30, 2006

The Lawrence Journal-World sports staff selected the all-area wrestling team recently. Selections were based heavily on voting by area coaches and performances throughout the season. All area coaches had an opportunity to vote for first-team, second-team and honorable mention honors.

De Soto's Neil Erisman was named Wrestler of the Year. The 171-pound senior closed out his senior year with a state championship and a 46-1 record. He finished his high school career with a 151-5 mark. Erisman signed to wrestle at Oklahoma State University next year.

Other's named to the first team were freshman Alan Callahan, Baldwin, 103 pounds, 43-5; freshman Aaron Patton, Wellsville, 112, 35-3; sophomore Brett Delich, Mill Valley, 119, 23-6; sophomore Kevin Callahan, Baldwin, 125, 44-6; senior Matthew James, Baldwin, 130, 35-18; junior Josh Cauthon, Santa Fe Trail, 135, 39-8; senior Lorenzo Mundy, Santa Fe Trail, 140, 36-4; junior Travis Moyer, Wellsville, 145, 22-14; senior Josiah Mason, Baldwin, 152, 42-10; sophomore Gabe Mason, Baldwin, 160, 45-6; junior Jake Rowland, Oskaloosa, 189, 26-8; sophomore Jake Kober, Santa Fe Trail, 215, 34-5; and senior Levi Bowen, Ottawa, 275, 28-7.

All the wrestlers on the all-area first team qualified for the state tournament. Erisman took first. Alan Callahan was sixth; Patton, third; Delich, third; Kevin Callahan, second; Cauthon, fifth; Mundy, second; Josiah Mason, fourth; Kober, second; and Bowen, second.

Those who received honorable mention on the all-area team were: 103 -- Trevor Barth, Ottawa; Adam Engelken, Oskaloosa; Ryan Weaver, Santa Fe Trail; Tyler Williamson, Mill Valley; 112 -- Nick Rockhold, Baldwin; 119 -- Cody Gray, Wellsville; Damon Lang, Oskaloosa; Michael Thurlow, Baldwin; 125 -- Justin Broadbent, Mill Valley; Ray Ramirez, Wellsville; David Williams, Oskaloosa; 130 -- Jordan Miller, Ottawa; Brad Padilla, Santa Fe Trail; 135 -- Kenny Calhoon, Perry-Lecompton; Michael Whitten, Eudora; 140 -- Miles Cleveland, Eudora; Matt Westin, Mill Valley; 145 -- Sam Wilson, Baldwin; 152 -- Nick Kalinichenko, Perry-Lecompton; 189 -- Tim Durkin, Eudora; Robbie Madden-Martins, Perry-Lecompton; 215 -- Willie Brooks, Perry-Lecompton; Michael Espinosa, Ottawa; Evan Meyers, Eudora; 275 -- Danny Besser, Oskaloosa; Alex Hackathorn, Perry-Lecompton.

Santa Fe Trail coach Regan Erickson was named coach of the year.

The De Soto Explorer is owned by the World Company, which also owns the Lawrence Journal-World.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.