Archive for Thursday, July 13, 2006

Voter registration deadline Monday

July 13, 2006

Unregistered voters in Johnson County have until Monday to register for the Aug. 1 primary. Candidates vying that day for a place on the November general election ballot include Republican candidates for the 3rd Congressional District, governor of Kansas and Kansas State Board of Education.

In-person advance voting for the Aug. 1 primary started Wednesday in Johnson County. It will continue through July 29. Any registered voter can vote at:

  • Metcalf South Shopping Center, northwest mall entrance, 9531 Metcalf in Overland Park.
  • Johnson County Northeast Offices, 6000 Lamar in Mission.
  • The Johnson County Multi-Service Center, 12425 W. 87th St. Parkway in Lenexa.
  • The Johnson County Election Office, 2102 E. Kansas City Road in Olathe.

The election office site is open for advance voting from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. weekdays and from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Saturdays. The other three sites are open from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. weekdays and 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Saturdays.

In addition, advance voting by mail began Wednesday. Mail-in ballot applications are available at De Soto City Hall, the De Soto Library or the elections office's Web site at Applications can be faxed or mailed to the election offices. The fax number and address are on the forms.

Completed applications must be received by the election office before 5 p.m. July 28. Mail-in ballots must be at the election office by 7 p.m. Aug. 1 to be counted.

An official candidate list can be found on the election office Web site. Johnson County residents can also find a sample ballot for their precincts at the Web site by clicking the "Look it up link" and confirm their voter registrations and polling place locations.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.