Archive for Thursday, February 9, 2006

Exploring the past

February 9, 2006

5 years ago
February 2001
J.R. Lobner and Lauren Kostas were named De Soto Winter Sports king and queen during De Soto High School's crowning ceremony.
¢ Authorities investigated a pipe bomb discovered by an 11-year-old boy in a field south of an apartment complex at 8515 Ottawa. The boy brought the bomb home and the boy's mother had him place the bomb in the garage. When she checked on the device she recognized it as a bomb and called the police.
Kent Harris of the Olathe Bomb Squad was called to the scene. The device was exploded within a special container placed in the front yard of the residence.
An adult suspect was identified in the incident.
A witness saw a suspect leave the area. The suspect was involved in an accident and bomb-making materials were found in the car later that night. All the evidence was recovered and sent to the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms for testing.
It was not known what motivated the suspect to make the devices.
¢ Kyle Walker won the fourth-grade spelling bee at Starside Elementary.
¢ De Soto students who earned semester honors for fall 2000 at Kansas State University were Jonathan Biggerstaff, Emily Cherry, Shauna Coffindaffer, Jill Curry, Amy Huggins, Ryan Keller and Nicholas Leach.

19 years ago
January 1987
Mayor James Beadle was a program guest of the De Soto Rotarians.
He spoke about the City of De Soto and asked for comments from the members present. Other guests were Robert Kobler from the Lenexa Rotary Club and Kevin Waldo.
¢ Marine Cpl. James F. Etherton, son of Marilyn and James F. Etherton Jr., De Soto, was promoted while serving with the 1st Marine Aircraft Wing, Marine Corps Air Station, in Iwakuni, Japan.

28 years ago
February 1978
Seventeen members of the De Soto Wildcat yearbook and Green Pride newspaper staff participated in the Kansas Scholastic Press Association Regional Contest at Kansas University in Lawrence for the first time. The students competed against journalism students from Bishop Ward, Kansas City, St. Joseph, Shawnee, Fort Scott and Osawatomie.
¢ Jennifer McLeod, a freshman guard for the De Soto Junior High girls basketball team, set a new record against Leavenworth West with 21 points.
Monica McAninch, a ninth-grader on the team in 1976, held the previous record of 18 points.
¢ Mr. and Mrs. Ted Morse and children were Sunday dinner guests of her father, Lewis Periman and Mrs. Periman, in North Kansas City, Mo.
¢ Senior Master Sergeant Donald E. Baxter, son of Mr. and Mrs. John W. Baxter, De Soto, re-enlisted in the U.S. Air Force at Travis AFB, Calif.
Sgt. Baxter, whose Air Force career began in 1952, was a weapons maintenance superintendent at Travis. He graduated from De Soto High School in 1949.
¢ Amy McDonald, Chris Ball and Shirley Pitts, all of De Soto, were pages at the Kansas State Legislature.
The trio was given the opportunity to observe first hand the processes of state legislature.

44 years ago
January 1962
Dean Weller was elected Noble Grand of the Oddfellow Lodge and Charles Neeland secretary.
¢ Officers elected at the De Soto School District PTA meeting were Vivian Triebal, president; Jean Harmon, vice president; Mary Plummer, second vice president; Frances Cox, secretary; and Annabelle Albertine, treasurer.
¢ Audrey Osborne, Memphis, Tenn., spent vacation time with her mother, Roxa Osborne and other relatives.

54 years ago
January 1952
Bertha Curtis was operator of the Horseshoe Cafe north of the post office.
¢ Louis Warsop, Charles Freeman Jr. and Don Musser went fishing on the Kaw River and caught a 40-pound catfish.
¢ Jewell and Zelda Siscoe entertained a group of young folks at their home to honor their sister, Gladys' birthday.

71 years ago
January 1935
The city of De Soto had only two vacant rooms among the business block buildings.
The buildings had been kept up and made a favorable showing for passing drivers.
¢ Lucille Gaynor was employed at the office of Dr. G.A. Pearson.
¢ Mr. and Mrs. Jap Lesueur moved from De Soto to Olathe, where they planned to manage the Johnson County Poor Farm.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.