Archive for Thursday, December 7, 2006

Culinary arts students earn certification

December 7, 2006

Mill Valley High School and Eudora High School students enrolled in the Eudora-De Soto Technical Education Center culinary arts program recently earned national certification in food safety and sanitation from the National Restaurant Association by successfully completing the ServSafe course.

ServSafe is the most widely recognized curriculum of its kind throughout the restaurant and hospitality industry. It is the curriculum of choice by such post-secondary institutions as Johnson County Community College, University of Missouri-Kansas City, the University of Missouri and Kansas State University.

With this certification, students interested in pursuing post-secondary opportunities related to the culinary arts field will enter into such programs with advanced standing.

"I'm so proud of all of them," ED-TEC culinary arts instructor Jason Gray said.

Gray also teaches ServSafe to college students at UMKC.

"This is a pretty hard test these kids have to take, and a lot of them don't have that industry experience that most people who take the course have. So when you consider that, I am very pleased."

Gray added that such certification has garnered former students opportunities and benefits like higher wages.

"I've had students that have gone out and gotten a job and they've been told that a big reason why they got the job over others is because of ServSafe," Gray said. "And there have been several students that have not only been hired because of this involvement, but have started out at a higher pay rate because of their completion of the ServSafe program."

Mill Valley High School students that earned the certificate include Justin Garcia, Nick Goslin, Justin Klemmer, Clinton Smith, Austin Vandervoort and Chris Wise.

Eudora High School students that were awarded the certificate include Kendal Abel, Carl Abram, Michael Bricker, Alex Curran, Nathan Gammon, Chastity Johnson, Justin Nelson, Jordan Noble, Kelsie Riser, Mackenzie Salzman, Derek Scrimsher, Jim Thoennes, Dustin True, Corey Wise and Lori Wyrick.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.