Archive for Thursday, September 16, 2004

Exploring the Past

De Soto history

September 16, 2004

5 years ago
September 1999
National Honor Society elected officers at De Soto High School. Those chosen were Josh Goodin, president; Brooke Moyer, vice president; Bobbi Dunn, secretary-treasurer; and Erica Francis, student council representative.
¢ Members of the De Soto High School volleyball team were Catherine Gilsdorf, Mindy DeGroot, Ellie Gundelfinger, Beth Dickinson, Brooke Zarda, Ashley Friend, Amber O'Connor, Jenny Fletcher, Jessi Copher, Lauren Dickenson, Brooke Woolery, Andrea Crall, Emily McNeill, Tiffany Bernard, Erica Francis, Ashley Perkins, Leslie Manson and Ashley Carlson. Head coach was David Beach and junior varsity coach was Jada Kohlmeier. Cody Gratny was manager.
¢ Members of the De Soto High School cross country team were Ian McReynolds, Silvia Springer, Jennifer Ambrose, Schyler Jones, Angie Matlack, April Davis, Alisa Jones, Mike Williams, Tad Twidell, Dylan Parnell, Griffin Lee, Brian Holda, Brian Fritz, Jason Wayne and Chad Johnson. Head coach was Mark Chipman.
¢ Members of the Webelos 2 group of Cub Scout Pack 3054 toured the KCTV-5 news building. They saw the set where weekly interviews were given with Chiefs football players. The tour counted toward the boys' Communicator's pin. Members were Steven Davidson, Michael Lester, Chris Dvorak, Aaron Hansen, Logan Cochran, Derrick McAninch, Caleb Boerckel, Kyle VanCamp, Sean Foster, Robert Collins, Brandon Stevens, Chris Buehler and Den Chief Jason McAninch.

15 years ago
September 1989
Edna Komer celebrated her 97th birthday with friends. Bill and Mary Plummer organized the party. Those attending were Lela and Kala Handley, Lois Tripkos, Ruth Buckley, Edna Tripkos, Delores Weller, Lela Allen, Pansy Penner, Dorothy Nalley and Elmer Jewett.
¢ Nathan Weimer carried the football 24 times and had 143 yards in the Wildcat's 26-6 victory over Immaculata. Weimer scored three touchdowns and kicked two extra points, accounting for all but three of De Soto's points.
¢ Dick and Shirley Haynes and Delores Weller traveled to Columbus, Ga., to attend the graduation of Matthew Haynes from infantry school. Matthew planned to be an airborne ranger and began training in that school.
¢ Mark Erickson was designated a semifinalist in the National Merit Scholarship competition.
¢ The women of the Baptist Church served lunch at the community kitchen. Serving on the committee were Frances Lawhead, Nadine Burchett, Betty Garretson and Margaret Wycoff.

28 years ago
September 1976
The De Soto school system had 22 teachers to start the new term.
¢ The City of De Soto was awarded an EPA grant in the amount of $420,000.
¢ The De Soto Jaycees sold jelly for the cerebral palsy camp in Augusta. The Jaycee Janes conducted a subscription drive for The De Soto News.

38 years ago
September 1966
The new Standard station opened for business. Bud Kobler was the manager-operator.
¢ Mabel Cunningham sold the old hotel at the west end of main street to Mr. and Mrs. Don LaCoursiere.

45 years ago
September 1959
Virgil Ellis built a new house in the Luther addition west of town. Guy Weller planned to build in the same addition.
¢ Darrell Prock was elected president of the high school student council. Other officers were Judy Bedford, vice president; Louise Morse, secretary; Connie Wright, treasurer; Arlan Gabriel and Pam Hookum, freshman class representatives; Kenny Bedford and Ginger Ireland, sophomore class representatives; and Clarence Chance, junior class representative.
¢ Officers for the Girl Scouts were Linda Kindred, president; Judy Brous, vice president; Ramona Demint, secretary-treasurer; and Ruth Brune, reporter. Troop mascots were Jacqueline, a kitten, and Jackson, a dog.
¢ Twirlers for the De Soto High School band were Sherry Hall, Connie Wright, Pam Hougham and Rosemary McAninch. Janice Toedman was drum majorette, and flag bearers were Hattie Austin and Pat Rodgers.
Winston Manning was band president; Sandy Periman, secretary-treasurer; Gary Asher, librarian; and Eldon Brown, student council representative.
¢ Mrs. Carlin Nalley was honored with a bridal shower. Hostesses were Mrs. Elmer Jewett, Mrs. John Zimmerli, Mrs. Kenneth Simmons, Ruth Amego, Betty Hall, Mrs. Ivan Weller and Mrs. Pingleton.
¢ Officers of the Pioneer 4-H Club were Danny Hanson, president; Larry Donham, vice president; Steve Freeman, secretary-treasurer; Jeanene Lawhead, reporter; Mary Donham, recreation leader; Charles Lawhead Jr., song leader; David Moll, parliamentarian; Irene Donham and Marion Hansen, community leaders; and Larry Donham and Danny Hanson, council members.
¢ Carl Martinson, a freshman at the Kansas University, pledged to Sigma Phi Epsilon fraternity.
¢ Among those on the 1959 Wildcat football team who were returning lettermen were Larry Smith, Val Finney, Archie Brashears, Ronnie Warsop, John Valcour, Jim Walker, Larry Spiering and Ted Morse.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.