Archive for Thursday, April 10, 2003

Exploring the Past

April 10, 2003

13 years ago
April 1990
Lexington Grange No. 94 collected 20 pounds of used Christmas cards to be sent to the St. Jude's Children's Home.
¢ The Kaw Valley Sportsman Association donated to a chapel at Camp Naish, a Boy Scout camp near Bonner Springs.
¢ The Satisfied Seniors met for a potluck dinner. Those attending were Mr. and Mrs. Ralph Bowling, Lucile Welch, Edna Caldwell, Bertha Kirby, Dee Richardson, Ruth Buckley, Bessie Weese, Velma Moll, Jennie Siscoe and Aggie Hoffman.

26 years ago
April 1977
Students named in "Who's Who in Music" were Donna Jones, Gary Everson, Don Coleman, Jim Plummer, Dee Ann Zimmerman, Mia Eldred, Cathy Pell, Marcia Swaim and Rick Dyson.
¢ Paul Pingleton completed a course in auctioneering and auction sales management at the Missouri Auction School in Kansas City, Mo.

36 years ago
April 1967
The Johnson County Library Board agreed to establish the De Soto branch library in permanent quarters.
¢ Members of the Craftsman Cabinets Juniors basketball team were Cindy Wright, Cindy Hartshorn, Cindy Gear, captain Betty Twist, Carolyn Wey and Brenda Hardy. The team was coached by Les Grazier and Jess Johnson.
¢ Those competing on the Wildcat track team were seniors Harold Coleman, Eddie Lowe, Don Walbridge and Roger Wilkinson; juniors Steve Coker, Jim Douglas, Ulysses Herbert, Bob Hickman, Larry Klug, Charles Lawley, Harrison McCallop, Mike Roth and John Rowland. Underclassmen who participated were sophomores Marvin McCallop, Don Grimes, Gary Peterson, James Roebuck, Willie Simpson, Lawrence Twidwell and Alan Wilkinson; and freshmen Dave Gardner, Danny Fetters, Bill Heckman, Howard Kinney, Dave Plummer, Edward Scott, Gary Williams and Mike Zahner.

42 years ago
April 1961
The race for mayor ended in a tie between George Linden and Charles Neeland. City Council winners were Ralph Bowling, Joseph Davis, Harvey Schultz, Wiley Simpson and Leland Toedman. Wayne Icenogle was elected city police judge.
¢ A.O. Sherfey, chiropractor, opened an office in the Lloyd Coker building in the east part of town, west of Rockhill trailer court.
¢ The junior fellowship at the De Soto Baptist Church elected officers for the new quarter. The elected officers were: Lou Ann Bickley, president; Wayne Russel, vice president; Lana Pingleton, secretary; Martha Thorpe, treasurer; Steven Amego, assistant treasurer; Karen Brune, party committee; and Marilyn Mann, Mark Blaine and Linda Osburn, refreshment committee.

75 years ago
April 1928
An ad for Sunflower Motor Service said, "Ride by bus and save." One-way fare to Kansas City was 70 cents; round trip, $1.25.
¢ An ad for a Lawrence car dealership said, "Fifteen minutes at the wheel of an Essex will convince you that it is the world's greatest buy." Not to be outdone, the Ford Motor Company placed its own ad that read, "For nearly 20 years, the Model T Ford led the motor industry, and it still is used by more people than any other automobile. More than 8 million Model T Fords are in active service today -- an indication of their sturdy wroth, reliability and economy."

Commenting has been disabled for this item.