Archive for Thursday, January 18, 2001

Primary will be needed in council race

January 18, 2001

Enough candidates have filed for the two contested DeSoto City Council seats to force a February primary election.

This week, Max Atwell, Jim Cannon and Emil Urbanek filed for city council. They joined Clyde Sanders and incumbent Tim Maniez, who filed earlier this month. With five candidates already in the field, a Feb. 27 primary will be needed to cut the list of candidates to four for the April 3 general election.

The list may grow larger before the filing deadline of noon, Jan. 23. Those running for city offices must file with DeSoto City Clerk Lana McPherson.

While the list of city council candidates grew, the number of DeSoto mayoral candidates remained at two. DeSoto City Councilman Duke Neeland and DeSoto Planning Commission Chairman Dave Anderson filed for that office earlier this month. A primary will be needed in that race if another candidate files.

Three open DeSoto school board seats will also be contested this spring. As of Tuesday, only the three incumbents have filed. The incumbents are Jim Thomas of Shawnee in Position 5, Sandra Thierer of DeSoto in Position 4 and Jim Plummer of DeSoto in Position 6.

A primary will be necessary should more than two candidates file for any of the positions. Only voters living in the precincts within a board position's boundaries vote in a school board primary election. However, the seats are contested district-wide during the general elections.

Those filing for school board positions must do so at the Johnson County Election Office, 2101 E. Kansas City Road in Olathe.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.