Archive for Thursday, April 19, 2001

De Soto History/Exploring the past

April 19, 2001

15 years ago


April 1986

Twelve students from De Soto High School traveled to Piper High School for the third annual League Math Relays. Students competed on three-man teams in the areas of Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, Senior Math and Computers.

De Soto teams placing first were the Algebra II team of Susan Nicholis, Paula Maxey and Steve Wright and the geometry team of Jeff Wooton, Mark Ohrenberg and Tim Pittman.

Other students who competed were Antti Pietarinen, Jim Gallagher, Jason Mullin, Lance Chandler, Cyndi Luther and Angie Lopez.

Sgt. Karen G. Noe, daughter of Leonard and Verna Noe, de soto, graduated from the U.S. Army Facilities Engineering Support Agency's prime power production course at Fort Belvoir, Va.

Edith Owens, Marie Thorp, Betty Pell, Ruth Bowlin, Lela Allen, Gladys Bowlin, Alicia Tankersley, Pansy Penner and Shirley Penner represented the De Soto United Methodist Church at the Spring Tea at the Monticello Church.

25 years ago


April 1976

Annexation of property to the city was one of the items of business on the agenda at the De Soto City Council meeting.

An area north, south and west of the city of De Soto had taken on somewhat of a jagged boundary line, with some in the city and other lots or acreages outside the city limits. At the previous meeting of the council, the motion was made by councilman Harold Luther and seconded by councilman Darrel Zimmerman to proceed to annex two areas west, north and south of the city limits. Roll call found all councilmen favorable to proceeding with the annexation.

38 years ago


April 1963

Southwestern Bell Telephone Company purchased the De Soto Mutual Telephone Company according to Glenn Couch, secretary of De Soto Company.

Arthur Gabriel was elected president of the Board of Directors of De Soto State Bank to fill the vacancy created by the death of Harry Dicken.

Dot Longstreth received a card from a native of Indonesia asking about her history of De Soto.

48 years ago


April 1953

Mary Zaring, Mary Lou Long, Dorothy Perriman and Anna Belle Albertin were initiated in the Rebekah degrees at a regular meeting.

Mr. and Mrs. Charles Oshel observed their 67th wedding anniversary.

Those in the senior play cast for "Forever Albert" were Wilma Cannell, Bonnie Giberson, Janice Polfer, Jim Ellis, Lonney Hinkle, Elwood Armstrong, Maurice Overby, Jim Dixon, Lois Henry, Bill Stowe, Alice Randall, Donna Kurtz, LaVonne Scott and Philip Markle.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.