Archive for Thursday, June 15, 2000

Candidate slates set for fall vote

June 15, 2000

Johnson County will see some new faces in government next year. Several incumbents did not file for re-election when Monday's filing deadline passed.

The positions of sheriff, clerk, treasurer and register of deeds will be filled by newcomers. All of those races, with the exception of treasurer, will be decided in the Aug.1 primary.

The only Democrat running for county office, Karen Carlin of Overland Park, will run against Republican Dennis Wilson, also of Overland Park for the treasurer's position. Neither has primary opposition. Current treasurer William O'Brien did not file for re-election.

John Foster. Lenexa, and Charles "Smokie" Siecgrist, Olathe, both Republicans, will run for sheriff. Sheriff Fred Allenbrand announced earlier this year he would retire at the end of his term.

John A. Bartolac, an Olathe Republican, is running unopposed for county clerk.

Current County Clerk Beverly Baker did not file for re-election.

Republicans Bruce R. Craig of Olathe and Becky Gilmore Davis of Olathe will compete for the register of deeds position. The winner will replace Sara Ullmann, who is not running.

District Attorney Paul Morrison, a Lenexa Republican, will likely serve another term. No one filed to run against the incumbent.

County Commissioner Johnna Lingle of the 2nd District will be opposed in the primary by fellow Republican Susie Wolf of Shawnee. Wolf filed Monday morning. The race will be decided in the primary because no Democrats have filed for the office.

In state races, Republican incumbent John Ballou of Gardner will run unopposed for state representative in the 43rd District in the Kansas House of Representatives.

State Senate incumbent Rich Becker of Lenexa will face Kay O'Connor of Olathe in the Kansas House 9th District primary.

The winner will meet Democrat Jeffery Emrick of Olathe, in the general election.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.